About the Fire & Rescue Service

Cornwall Fire and Rescue Service (CFRS) is the statutory fire and rescue service covering Cornwall. Created under the Fire Services Act 1947 as "Cornwall County Fire Brigade", the name changed to "Cornwall Fire and Rescue Service" on 1 October 2009, leaving London and Cleveland as the only two UK fire services to use the name "Fire Brigade".

Our Service Headquarters (SHQ), based at Tolvaddon, opened in 2015 and CFRS operates 31 community fire stations, of which:

  • two are crewed day and night (wholetime)
  • five are day-crewed (Monday to Sunday, 07:00 to 19:00)
  • one is day-crewed (Tues-Fri 8am – 6.30pm)
  • the remainder are crewed by on-call firefighters, who live near to their fire station and can arrive there within five minutes of a call being received.

Due to an influx in visitors during the summer months, Newquay Community Fire Station changes to a wholetime structure during the summer period. The breakdown of stations is as follows:

  • 2 wholetime shift / on-call stations
  • 6 wholetime day-crewed stations / on-call stations
  • 31 on-call stations.

Around 730 people work in the Service. This is split between operational staff and a range of support staff on both Green and Grey book terms and conditions including:

  • business support
  • health and safety
  • equality and diversity
  • training and development
  • engineering and workshops
  • procurement
  • critical control
  • performance
  • support for our people.

Detailed information about the Fire & Rescue service can be found by vising our website

Latest jobs