About the Council

Cornwall Council is a unitary authority. It was created on 1 April 2009 by merging Cornwall County Council and the six borough and district councils in Cornwall - Caradon, Carrick, Kerrier, North Cornwall, Restormel and Penwith.

The Council has a revenue budget of over £1bn and a £1.2bn capital/investment programme. Our 123 councillors represent the 560,000+ residents dispersed across the largest rural unitary Council in England - by any measure the Council is one of the largest local authorities in England.

Our Cabinet has committed to deliver on five key priorities:

  • Healthy Cornwall
  • Homes for Cornwall
  • Green and prosperous Cornwall
  • Connecting Cornwall
  • Democratic Cornwall

You can read a short summary of these priorities here. And, you can read more about our Cabinet and their responsibilities here.

The Council has a workforce of around 5,500 and is the biggest employer in Cornwall. The Chief Executive and Strategic Directors form the Council’s management team which leads the work that provides services across Cornwall.

Council staff and services are based in offices, depots and facilities across Cornwall. Advice and information about council services are available through an extensive network of one stop shops, our call centre and our website.

In addition, Cornwall Council has a diverse group of wholly owned companies providing infrastructure, engineering, housing, jobs, social care, facilities management, inward investment, transport and other essential services to Cornwall. Corserv Group includes Cormac Solutions, Cornwall Airport Newquay, Cornwall Development Company, Cornwall Housing and Via East Midlands (a joint venture between Cornwall Council and Nottinghamshire County Council).

Having a single council gives Cornwall a strong and united voice when dealing with national government, regional agencies and partner organisations. This has meant that Cornwall was the first rural authority to agree a Devolution Deal with the Government. The Cornwall Devolution Deal outlines the powers that will be devolved to Cornwall for transport, energy, health and social care, and heritage.

However, it does not mean that it’s a case of ‘one size fits all’. Different towns and villages in Cornwall have different priorities. We respond to those local needs through 19 community network areas focused around Bodmin, Bude, Callington, Camborne and Redruth, Camelford, China Clay area, Falmouth and Penryn, Hayle and St Ives, Helston and the Lizard, Launceston, Liskeard and Looe, Newquay and St Columb, Penzance, Saltash and Torpoint, St Agnes and Perranporth, St Austell, St Blazey and Fowey and Lostwithiel, Truro and Roseland, Wadebridge and Padstow.

In December 2017 the Council welcomed an LGA Corporate Peer Challenge of the organisation with the nine-strong independent peer team highlighting many strengths in their report and endorsing our focus on key areas of transformation and improvement.

With a competitive employee reward package that attracts, retains and motivates our employees, open plan working environments in most offices, and a can-do culture where talented people thrive, Cornwall Council is a great place to work. And, with its beautiful beaches, stunning countryside and superb community spirit, it is also a great place to live.